To Top

Gaon Chart Music Awards 2017: It’s A Star-Studded Lineup!

In every industry, there are award shows to commemorate the best among the best. In the KPop industry, these awards shows occur annually. One such award is the Gaon Chart Music Awards 2017, which the KPop fans are already looking forward to. The event will take place at the end of February.

The Gaon Chart Music Awards is an annual show by the national music record chart Gaon. Unlike other music awards shows, the GCMA focuses more on the songs and albums instead of the artists. The finalists are always based on last year’s Gaon year-end performance according to the sales data of songs and albums. The very first GCMA was held in the Blue Square Samsung Card Hall on Feb. 22, 2012.

Gaon Chart Music Awards 2017: Who will be there?

Last Jan. 23, the Korean Music Contents Association released the official lineup for the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards. The list consisted of a mix of veteran and rookie idols. The following artists will be present: SISTAR, BeWhy, DEAN, Mamamoo, GFriend, EXO, TWICE, Han Dong Geun, Bolbbalgan4, and SHINee’s Onew.

In addition to the current lineup, Allkpop reported that more are confirmed to make an appearance at the Gaon Chart Music Awards 2017. A representative from Gaon said that BTS, BLACKPINK, GOT7, NCT 127, and Urban Zakapa will be present in the awards show.

“We’re looking forward to celebrate the top KPop acts who worked really hard last year. We are also hoping that many people all over the world will come see the show,” the representative said.

Tickets for the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards are available starting on Feb. 2. The event will be held on Feb. 22 at 7 PM in the Jamsil Arena in Seoul, South Korea. There are no details regarding the show’s hosts as of the moment.

Who Has A Big Chance Of Winning The Show?

A forum in One Hallyu revealed the nominees of the Gaon Chart Music Awards 2017. The nominees for both digital and physical sales include many prominent acts like EXO, TWICE, and BTS. Other nominees were SNSD’s Taeyeon, Block B’s Zico, BIG BANG, and Park Hyoshin.

For the rookies, the following artists were nominated for physical sales: BLACKPINK, SF9, NCT127, Gugudan, Astro, and Pentagon. BLACKPINK was also included in the nominees for digital sales, along with MC Gree, Kwon Jin Ah, Sam Kim, and Jung Seung Han.

Are you excited for the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards?

Read More: SISTAR Contract: Find Out What Will Happen To KPop’s Summer Queens

More in TV